jump to navigation

Get Organized with “Tidy Start Menu” Software July 9, 2007

Posted by Mike in Freebies, Organize, Software, Technology, Worth the Money.
trackback

Do you get tired of looking through the long list of installed programs on your start menu?

I know I do. So did Dennis Nazarenko and he decided to do something about it. He created a software program called “Tidy Start Menu.” The program allows a user to quickly and easily arrange the list of installed software programs on a computer into categories.

He offers two versions. One is free and the other is an “extended” version that currently costs $19.99. Either version can be downloaded from his web site, www.tidystartmenu.com.

Click here to download the free version.

Click here to register and download the pay version.

I downloaded the free version to test it out. The version I installed is v3.3 and I used it on a Windows XP Professional Operating System.

I found it very intuitive and easy to use, especially if you choose to operate the software in “Simple Mode”. It is not a misnomer.

In the free version, you are not able to create your own category names. You must use the ones that come in the program.

These categories are:
Office, Utilities, Games, Entertainment, Internet, Programming, Graphics, Security and Other.

If you aren’t satisfied with these options, then the pay version is a better choice for you.

I do suggest taking a moment to use the Backup feature in the software. You can store a backup of your original start menu and revert back to it in case you don’t like the results when you use Tidy Start Menu.

The program organized my programs menu with ease. However, a word of caution: It also organizes the programs menu for ALL other profiles on my computer. I happen to use both a work and personal profile on my computer, so the changes I applied using Tidy Start Menu on my work profile carried over to my personal one.

For me, this is not a problem. However, it may be if you share a computer with a family member, colleague or roommate who logs in with their own profile and doesn’t appreciate your attempts at organizing the cluttered programs menu.

I also found it interesting that the Tidy Start Menu program only appears on the Program Files Menu of the profile that you used to install it. I installed it using my work profile. The program doesn’t display on the programs menu for my home profile, so I couldn’t use it easily from my home profile.

Often, software programs offer the installer a choice to make the program available to ‘everyone’ or to ‘just me’.  This program didn’t.  I uninstalled and re-installed it just to make sure I didn’t miss the option.  It isn’t there.

All in all, those are small issues and the program works well as advertised. I recommend it as an option to someone looking to get their computer organized.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

