jump to navigation

Do You Need a Reminder? Pingme’s Free Online Service will Keep You on Task August 17, 2007

Posted by Mike in Business, Freebies, Online Service, Organize, Technology.
trackback

 pingmelogo.png

Pingme has designed an easy to use reminder service to help us remember what’s important to us. If you’re like me, you have too much to remember in your daily life. To keep track of it all, I resort to post-it notes stuck to computer monitors, messages scribbled on the back of scraps of paper or emails sent to myself with a “to-do” list.

Whether its a grocery list, an anniversary date or a reminder to pick someone up at the airport, Pingme can help.

With a free Pingme account, you can setup the service to send a reminder to your email address or your mobile phone as a text message. These reminders can be recurring (i.e. once a year to remember your anniversary) or a one time reminder to pickup your friends at the airport.

Pingme also has a “pester” option that allows me to send my reminder more frequently, say every hour, 30 minutes or 10 minutes.   I’d get irritated (at myself) quickly if I received a reminder every 10 minutes.  However, to each his/her own and that may be a valuable feature to you.

When I setup my account, I was asked to verify my email address and mobile phone number (via text message). After doing so, I logged in to create a new reminder for myself. You can add multipe emails and phone numbers too. You’ll be able to choose where to send the reminder (email, phone or both).

I think the folks at Jott and the folks at Pingme should join forces to create a stellar service.

Jott’s voice to email technology could be modified by PingMe to quickly create reminders when I’m driving in my car and not in front of my computer.

Take a look at Pingme and keep it in mind the next time you’re staring at your post-it covered computer monitor trying to remember what you forgot.

Comments»

1. Stephen - August 20, 2007

Thanks for the great suggestion about mashing up Jott and PingMe! You ask, we deliver – check it out:

http://www.zetetic.net/articles/2007/08/20/mobile-mashup-create-scheduled-reminders-with-your-voice-using-jott-and-pingme

2. Pingme and Jott: Two Great Services Mashed Up Together! « My Tech Talk - August 20, 2007

[…] Posted by Mike McGinley in Online Service, Organize, Freebies, Business, Technology. trackback In my earlier post about PingMe,  I casually suggested that combining the services of PingMe and Jott would be an excellent […]

3. Jordin - August 21, 2007

Wow, I keep seeing these blogs about different occasions where a Jott user has had TOP NOTCH service when he/she had a problem. After reading this blog, I just have NO DOUBT that Jott is a high class company. Not just an awesome app…but awsome company! now, when I tell my friends about Jott, I can tell them NOT only about the great app, BUT about the great customer service they will receive. Just too good I tell ya…AND its free!!

4. Mike McGinley - August 21, 2007

Hi Jordin,

Thanks for reading. Jott does have good service. So does PingMe. Stephen Lombardo actually works for PingMe and he modified his service to work with Jott. So, Jott users who subscribe to the PingMe service can create a reminder for themselves via their phones.

5. Jordin - August 22, 2007

I totally love the combo! I’ll give word to my buddies about PingMe when I speak of Jott. 🙂


Leave a Reply

