jump to navigation

Google vs. Yahoo! – Battle of the Email Titans: One Reason Why Gmail is Better August 23, 2007

Posted by Mike in Freebies, Online Service, PC ABCs, Reviews, Software, Technology.
trackback

Yahoo vs. Google

One reason why Google’s Gmail is better can be summed up in three words:

Free POP Settings.

Yahoo requires users to upgrade to the Yahoo! Mail plus service for an annual $19.99 in order to get to use POP Settings. 

For many, POP settings are important.  It is a fundamental feature that isn’t sexy or flashy, but it is useful. 

For the average computer user, the phrase POP Settings may not mean much.  It is an abbreviation for “Post Office Protocol.” These are email server settings that need to be configured into software programs like Outlook, Outlook Express, Thunderbird and IncrediMail. Once configured,  a person can download their email into one of those programs to manage their email.

To be fair, POP settings have been considered a “premium” feature for free online email services for quite a while.  Google is just re-writing the rules and I wouldn’t be surprised to see Yahoo! and others follow suit in the future to keep their users happy.

If you’re looking for a new email service and want to be able to manage your email in a software program like Outlook, then I’d suggest looking at Gmail

After all, it’s hard to beat free.

Which email service do you prefer?

Comments»

1. cjarmstrong - August 23, 2007

you’re exactly right. plus, you can also keep a copy of the email either in your inbox or archived. that way, if you ever aren’t at your computer and need a past email, it’s still there. that’s my biggest complaint with POP: once it’s on your desktop, it’s on your desktop – no copies. that’s where IMAP is cool, but that’s a whole other post.

2. Mike McGinley - August 23, 2007

Hi CJ,

Thanks for reading and commenting. There is an email setting that allows you to leave a copy of your messages on the mail server. It is an advanced setting and requires digging into those advanced tabs to find it. However, enabling it will allow you to keep a copy of messages in two places: your email software and the email server.

3. Nirav - August 23, 2007

Hi Mike,
It is one of the features that Gmail has advantage over. However, I like Yahoo Mail because it has RSS reader right in it and lists all RSS feeds that are there on My Yahoo page. That way I can read news right within my inbox. And, since I don’t use Outlook to access my web based emails it is a moot point.
So, just based on one feature or certain list of features it can not be judged best or better. The definition of “better” is subjective in the internet world.

4. Mike McGinley - August 23, 2007

Hi Nirav,

I agree. Better is a subjective word. In the narrow scope of POP Settings, Google’s decision to offer that feature for free makes it a better option — assuming that feature is important to you. That’s my opinion, of course. I actually use Yahoo email for my primary email and don’t need the POP settings either. I do believe Google offers an RSS reader on their iGoogle page. It’s sort of like the My Yahoo page.

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog and post your thoughts!

5. rAm - September 6, 2007

I was an avid yahoo mail user for almost 4 years. But now I rarely go there. One thing that put me off was the new interface which is really not very good. Also the search ability in yahoo is not good enough for my purposes.


Leave a Reply

