jump to navigation

BlogDesk Software Helps Bloggers Post November 3, 2007

Posted by Mike in Blogging, Freebies, Reviews, Software, Technology.
trackback

blogdesk-logo

I’ve recently started using BlogDesk software to write and upload articles to my blog. I like the fact that I can write my post in a software program offline and either save it or upload it to my WordPress.com blog when I’m done.

The software feels more like Microsoft Word and I think its more user-friendly for writing and editing than the free online word processing tools offered by WordPress.

BlogDesk is totally free of charge and optimized for the blog systems WordPress, MovableType, Drupal, Serendipity and ExpressionEngine as well as the bloghosters Blogg.de and Twoday.net.

COOL FEATURES:

  1. FREE (is always cool)
  2. Work offline on your blog writing.
  3. Edit existing blogs offline
  4. Easier to insert images and edit text.
  5. Good, user-friendly image editing tools.
  6. ‘Manage Blogs’ feature allows you to import your existing blog posts and categories for editing.

NOTE: I did have a few problems getting the import feature to work for my WordPress blog, but its worth the trouble. You’ll need to get it working to be able to upload your finished work to your blog.

Comments»

1. peacefulone - November 3, 2007

Hi Mike! I think I’ll bookmark your site! Wow…Excellent information. You’re resourceful; thanks very much. Sister E

2. Los Havros - November 3, 2007

Have you had a look at Windows Live Writer? It is fully featured, and has a growing community for plugins.

3. penny09 - November 3, 2007

I could have done with reading this a few weeks ago! I was having problems uploading to my blog from Word, after a bit of researching I found that Blogdesk is recommended for use along side WordPress..

What a releif it was to me to find an easy way to upload (to wwordpress)! As part of my course I have to update my blog weekly, Blogdesk is easy to use and as you said – its free -so not complaints!!

4. coolsmurf - November 3, 2007

I have been using Zoundry Blog Writer which works like what you describe and the import function works. I will try this out though but you can try the one i recommend too…

http://www.zoundry.com/download.html

5. peaclver - November 3, 2007

Sorry to say, I think that you can do essentially the same thing with Word and not have that space used up with another writing program. I’ve used Word and done pretty much as you do with BlogDesk. There is for me no reason to change.

6. deshika - November 3, 2007

Hi Mike, what a great idea! I love the image wizard because I always have trouble with that. Right now, I have just this minute tried out the system but cannot get through the ‘Get blog ID’ stage – it keeps coming back as incorrect info – any tips for me please?

Mike

7. Mike - November 3, 2007

Hi Los Havros,

Thanks for the suggestion. I’ll take a look at that product too.

8. Mike - November 3, 2007

Hey CoolSmurf,

Thanks for the suggestion and for reading my blog. I’ll try Zoundry too.

9. Mike - November 3, 2007

Hi Pea,

I’m glad you’ve got MS Word to work for you. If you’ve got something that works, stick with it.

10. Mike - November 3, 2007

Thanks, Sister E. I appreciate the kind words.

11. Mike - November 3, 2007

Hi Deshika,

It’s been a little while since I resolved that problem with the “manage blog” feature in the software. For me, I think the issue had to do with the fact that the wizard has two entries for WordPress. One entry says “WordPress” and the other says “< WordPress 2.2”, which I assume means less than version 2.2.

I chose the wrong one initially. I use the free version of WordPress online, so I apparently needed to select the option that said “WordPress.”

Hopefully, that’ll help you too…

12. Mike - November 3, 2007

Hi Penny,

I’m glad you found the software useful. I do think it’s a good option for WordPressers like ourselves.

13. Smith - November 5, 2007

great post

14. A Blogger’s Best Friend: Zoundry’s Blog Writer Software « My Tech Talk - June 4, 2008

[…] this software isn’t to your liking, you may want to try BlogDesk software […]


Leave a Reply

